Last to Know – Three Days Grace

by creamsikkle


Last to Know
By Three Days Grace

She just walked away
Why didn’t she tell me?
And where do I go tonight?

This isn’t happening to me…
This can’t be happening to me

She didn’t say a word
Just walked away

You were the first to say
That we were not okay

You were the first to lie
When we were not alright

This was my first love
She was the first to go
And when she left me for you
I was the last to know

Why didn’t she tell me
Where to go tonight

She didn’t say a word
He just walked away

You were the first to say
That we were not okay

You were the first to lie
When we were not alright

This was my first love
She was the first to go
And when she left me for you
I was the last to know

*angst guitar solo with piano*

I’ll be the first to say
That now I’m okay
And for the first time
I’ve opened up my eyes

This was my worst love
You’ll be the first to go
And when she leaves you for dead
You’ll be the last to know

I’ll be the first to say
That now I’m okay

And for the first time
I’ve opening up my eyes

This was my worst love
You’ll be the first to go

And when she leaves you for dead
You’ll be the last to know…

I heard this song randomly on the radio and I immediately freaked out because it just spelled out the relationship between these sets of characters so plainly, that I wanted to cry. I thought it would help explain some characters and their relationship.

Okay, so let me introduce you to Bennett, and Anna, two characters from My Sweet Sixteen. Bennett, or ‘Benn’ for short is 16. She is gentle, kind, full of giggles and smiles, and is only shy the first time you meet her. She has an older brother and lives with him and their parents in an apartment. Bennett is more sheltered than Anna, not just in the sense of having a roof over he head (no pun intended). Bennett has a family, a house, a pet, normal friends who go to the mall on the weekends; all Anna has ever wished for. She has more limits set on her; curfew, boys, electronics, friends, school, those kinds I things. This is one of the reasons Bennett is drawn to Anna, she’s the doorway to a whole new world of thrills that she’s never been able to touch before. Anna’s the ‘bad boy’. She shows her the darker side of life; or, what Bennett calls, the true thrills and excitements of life. They don’t do drugs together; they don’t drink or steal. They go places, they see things together, they break rules and race along the beach. Bennett gets to feel alive riding with Anna on her motorcycle.

She calls Anna when things cave in, when she needs to get away, and get fresh air away from her pressured life at home. Anna tempts her adventurous side to emerge, as well as a side he has never known herself.

Bennett, who has never loved anyone, falls head over heals for her flamboyant , cocky, sneaky, unpredictable friend.

And it scares her. A lot.

She doesn’t understand why she likes a girl, and she doesn’t understand why Anna likes her back, ‘There’s nothing interesting about me, right?’ She goes along with the unpredictable flow of what seems to be; she goes along with Anna.

Anna loves Bennett with such a passion; she cares for her so much, you can’t imagine. It’s one of those annoying cliché romances, with my own little ‘angst knife’ twisted in.

You see, this whole lesbian thing doesn’t fly with Bennett, and she suddenly rejects herself as well as Anna, an goes through an inner struggle, extreme homophobia, and even a stage here she considers suicide; which Anna discovers, and is very alarmed about.

So, in a nutshell, Bennett and Anna were perfect and they loved each other, but Bennett freaked out and was all “DO NOT WANT!!!!” She then avoided being alone with Anna, and when they were with each other , she acted as If nothing had happened Between the two of them. Anna totally understood that she wanted space and didn’t have feelings for her anymore, but Anna still loved Bennett. She continues to love her FOREVER, and is always wishing for her happiness.

It is extremely painful for her to watch Bennett later fall in love with a different man, because even though she is happy for Bennett and her happiness, it still hurts.

:'( tear…..

‘She just walked away’
‘Why didn’t she tell me?’
‘And where do I go tonight?’

The song is from both of their perspectives. The overall sheer confusion, frustration and insecurity is overwhelming….wow…big words for me, all in one sentence too.

These lines are Anna speaking to herself. He is saying how she was stupid for overwhelming Bennett all of a sudden, and that’s why she didn’t tell her immediately that she didn’t feel the same way. She’s saying, that all of a sudden, she turned around, and ignored their previous relationship, expressing her feelings of regret and that she wanted to forget about everything. ‘And where do I go tonight?’ is quite literal, as she doesn’t have a true home. She sleeps around with her friends from the (motorcycle) shop, and in ware houses. It’s her way of saying, on top of worrying about this girl, and what’s going through her head, I don’t have a place to sleep tonight.

‘This isn’t happening to me…
This can’t be happening to me!’

This is Bennett being all angsty about having feelings for another girl, which is just wrong to her.

The last part of the song kind of works for Bennett and Anna, but only kind of. This is Anna saying that she should get over Bennett, trying to think badly of her for leading her on, and then suddenly rejecting her, but she can’t, Because she still loves her.

