ROMEO AND JULIET TRIAL SCRIPT

by creamsikkle


ROMEO AND JULIET TRIAL SCRIPT

Sirisha, Katie, Walter, Isabel, Nick, and Sanjay

 

BALTHASAZAR

 

Testimony:

L: Would you please introduce yourself to the court?

B: I am Balthazar.

L: What was your relationship with Romeo?

B: I was his life long servant, but I was also his friend.

L: What were you doing on the night of Romeo and Juliet’s deaths?

B: I was hiding, waiting for Romeo to return from the tomb.

L: Could you show the court where you were hiding on this diagram?

B: I was hiding here, in the bushes right in front of the entrance of the tomb.

L: Did Romeo ask you to wait for him?

B: No, he paid me to leave him alone, but I hid instead. I was worried about what he might do.

L: Did you see anyone else enter the tom that night?

B: Yes, Friar Lawrence showed up right before the Watchmen did.

L: And no one else entered the tomb that night, you are absolutely sure?

B: Yes.

L: Thank you, no further questions.

 

 

LADY CAPULET

 

Testimony:

L: Please introduce yourself to the court

LC: I am Lady Capulet, the wife of Lord Capulet. Juliet was my daughter.

L: What was your husband’s state of mind after Juliet’s faked death?

LC: He was distraught; Juliet was our only daughter. He wouldn’t come out of our room all night.

L: Who are the people in you house that he trusts the most?

LC: Myself and Juliet’s nurse.

L: And what were the two of you doing the night of Juliet’s actual death?

LC: We were comforting my husband, trying to get him in a better mood.

L: Was there anyone else there besides you and the nurse?

LC: Yes. Peter was there as well. He hardly ever leaves the nurse’s side.

L: How long did the three of you tend to Lord Capulet?

LC: All night, until we were informed that Juliet and Romeo were discovered dead.

L: Thank you, no further questions.

PETER

 

Testimony:

L: Would you please introduce yourself to the court?

P: My name is Peter.

L: What is your relationship with the nurse?

P: I have worked alongside the nurse for many years, I know her very well.

L: What do you have to say about the nurse’s character?

P: She is the sweetest old woman in the world and she loved Juliet very much. She wouldn’t hurt a fly; all she did was defend Juliet. She wanted to help her recover from her mistakes, and watch her grow up.

L: Where were you the night of Juliet’s death?

P: I was with Lady Capulet and the nurse; we were trying to get Lord Capulet ro come out of his room.

L: Did anyone leave the house that night?

P: No. The only time anyone left was when Lord and Lady Capulet were notified that Juliet had killed herself.

L: Thank you, no further questions.

 

 

CORONER

 

Testimony:

L: Please introduce yourself to the court.

C: I am coroner, I examine dead bodies and determine cause of death.

L: How did you become involved in this case?

C: I was called to the scene to examine Juliet’s body.

L: What was your determined cause of death?

C: Juliet bled to death from a knife wound.

L: Would you please read what you wrote about how Juliet came to her death in the certificate of death you issued.

C: Yes. (Peter reads the report)

L: Are you positive that Juliet did in fact kill herself?

C: Yes.

L: Thank you, no further questions.

 

NURSE

 

Testimony:

L: Please introduce yourself to the court.

N: I am… was… Juliet’s nurse.

L: What was your relationship with Juliet and the Capulets like?

N: I loved Juliet like I would have loved my own daughter, if she was still alive. I did not have as much of a relationship with Lord and Lady Capulet like I did with their daughter.

L: How did you discover Juliet that Thursday morning when she should have been married to Paris?

N: I went to wake her, but she wouldn’t wake up. Oh my dear sleeping Juliet! She just wouldn’t wake!

L: And where were you on the night of Juliet’s actual death?

N: I was with Lady Capulet and Peter, we spent the night tending to Lady Capulet while he was grieving over the death of his daughter.

L: How did you feel when Friar Lawrence told you the truth about what happened to Juliet?

N: I was shocked… Juliet never told me of her plan to fake her own death. I thought she was really dead. I wish she would have told me so I could have helped her!

L: Thank you, no further questions.

 

